Skip Navigation Links
About UsExpand About Us
Grant ProgramsExpand Grant Programs
EvaluationExpand Evaluation
Active GrantsExpand Active Grants
Memorial AwardsExpand Memorial Awards
Grant HistoryExpand Grant History
NewsletterExpand Newsletter
Skip Navigation Links
 Skip Navigation LinksHome > About Us > BSF Grantees who Received <br>Nobel and Other Awards  
About Us BSF Grantees who received Nobel and other awards
   Skip Navigation Links    
The BSF is known for the outstanding level of scientific research it supports, and attracts top scientists from the United States and Israel. Many partners in BSF-sponsored research have won the world's most prestigious scientific awards, including 46 Nobel Prize laureates, 7 winners of the Turing Award, 8 recipients of the Fields Medal, 23 winners of the Albert Lasker Medical Research Award (the "American Nobel"), and 63 recipients of the Wolf Prize.

The following is a list of these renowned scientists:

Nobel Prize Laureates
Year Name Country
2017 Prof. Michael RosbashU.S.A.
2009 Prof. Elizabeth BlackburnU.S.A.
2006 Prof. Andrew FireU.S.A.
2004 Prof. Richard Axel U.S.A.
2000 Prof. Eric R. Kandel U.S.A.
1997 Prof. Stanley B. Prusiner U.S.A.
1995 Prof. Eric F. Wieschaus U.S.A.
1994 Prof. Alfred G. Gilman U.S.A.
1994 Prof. Martin RodbellU.S.A.
1990 Prof. E. Donnall ThomasU.S.A.
1978 Prof. Daniel Nathans U.S.A.
1975 Prof. Howard M. Temin U.S.A.
1959 Prof. Arthur Kornberg U.S.A.
Year Name Country
2012 Prof. David J. WinelandU.S.A.
2004 Prof. David J. Gross U.S.A.
2004 Prof. H. David Politzer U.S.A.
1998 Prof. Daniel C. Tsui U.S.A.
1998 Prof. Horst Stormer U.S.A.
1996 Prof. Robert C. Richardson U.S.A.
1981 Prof. Nicolaas Bloembergen U.S.A.
1980 Prof. James Cronin U.S.A.
1979 Prof. Steven Weinberg U.S.A.
1964 Prof. Charles H. Townes U.S.A.
1961 Prof. Robert Hofstadter U.S.A.
Year Name Country
2015Prof. Aziz SancarU.S.A.
2013Prof. Michael LevittU.S.A.
2013Prof. Martin KarplusU.S.A.
2011Prof. Dan ShechtmanIsrael
2009 Prof. Ada E. YonathIsrael
2006 Prof. Roger D. Kornberg U.S.A.
2004 Prof. Aaron J. Ciechanover Israel
2004 Prof. Avram Hershko Israel
2004 Prof. Irwin A. Rose U.S.A.
2001 Prof. Barry K. Sharpless U.S.A.
2000 Prof. Alan J. Heeger U.S.A.
1998 Prof. Walter Kohn U.S.A.
1996 Prof. Richard E. Smalley U.S.A.
1989 Prof. Sidney Altman U.S.A.
1986 Prof. Dudley R. Herschbach U.S.A.
1986 Prof. Yuan T. Lee U.S.A.
1980 Prof. Paul Berg U.S.A.
1972 Prof. Christian Anfinsen U.S.A.
Year Name Country
2012 Dr. Alvin E. RothU.S.A.
2005 Prof. Robert J. Aumann Israel
2002 Prof. Daniel Kahneman U.S.A.
2000 Prof. Daniel L. McFadden U.S.A.

Turing Award for Computer Science

Year Name Country
2012Dr. Silvio MicaliU.S.A.
2012 Dr. Shafi GoldwasserU.S.A.
2007 Dr. Edmund ClarkeU.S.A.
2000 Dr. Andrew YaoU.S.A.
1996 Dr. Amir PnueliIsrael
1986 Prof. Robert TarjanU.S.A.
1985 Prof. Richard KarpU.S.A.



Fields Medal in Mathematical Science

Year Name Country
2018Prof. Akshay VenkateshU.S.A.
1994Dr. Jean BourgainU.S.A.
1994Prof. Efim ZelmanovU.S.A.
1990Prof. Vladimir DrinfeldU.S.A.
1990Prof. Vaughan JonesU.S.A.
1982Prof. Shing-Tung YauU.S.A.
1978Prof. Gregory MargulisU.S.A.
1978Prof. Charles FeffermanU.S.A.



Albert Lasker Medical Research Award

Year Name Country
2016 Prof. Charles RiceU.S.A.
2014 Prof. Mahlon DeLongU.S.A.
2013 Prof. Richard SchellerU.S.A.
2012 Prof. James SpudichU.S.A.
2006 Prof. Elizabeth Blackburn U.S.A.
2002 Prof. James E. Darnell U.S.A.
2000 Prof. Avram Hershko Israel
2000 Prof. Aaron Ciechanover Israel
1997 Prof. Mark S. Ptashne U.S.A.
1995 Prof. Jack L. Strominger U.S.A.
1994 Prof. Stanley Prusiner U.S.A.
1991 Prof. Y. W. Kan U.S.A.
1989 Prof. Alfred G. Gilman U.S.A.
1987 Prof. Leroy E. Hood U.S.A.
1987 Prof. Philip Leder U.S.A.
1985 Prof. Joseph L. Goldstein Israel
1983 Prof. Eric R. Kandel U.S.A.
1982 Prof. Roscoe O. Brady U.S.A.
1980 Prof. Paul Berg U.S.A.
1980 Prof. Ronald Finn U.S.A.
1978 Prof. Solomon H. Snyder U.S.A.
1974 Prof. Sol Spiegelman U.S.A.
1974 Prof. Howard M. Temin U.S.A.
Wolf Prize Recipients
Year Name Country
2018 Prof. Vladimir DrinfeldU.S.A.
2018 Prof. Alexander BeilinsonU.S.A.
2017 Prof. Charles FeffermanU.S.A.
2014 Prof. Peter SarnakU.S.A.
2013 Prof. Michael ArtinU.S.A.
2012 Prof. Michael AschbacherU.S.A.
2010 Prof. Dennis P SullivanU.S.A.
2010 Prof. Shing-Tung YauU.S.A.
2006 Prof. Hillel Furstenberg Israel
2005 Prof. Gregory A. Margulis U.S.A.
2001 Prof. Saharon Shelah Israel
1999 Prof. Elias M. Stein U.S.A.
1997 Prof. Joseph B. Keller U.S.A.
1992 Prof. Michael AschbacherU.S.A.
1990 Prof. Ilya Piatetski-Shapiro Israel
Year Name Country
2016 Prof. Lewis CantleyU.S.A.
2008 Prof. Aharon Razin Israel
2008 Prof. Howard Cedar U.S.A.
2005 Prof. Alexander Levitzki Israel
2001 Prof. Avram Hershko Israel
1999 Prof. Eric Kandel U.S.A.
1998 Prof. Michael Sela Israel
1998 Prof. Ruth Arnon Israel
1995 Prof. Stanley B. Prusiner U.S.A.
1991 Prof. Seymour Benzer U.S.A.
1987 Prof. Meir Wilcheck Israel
1982 Prof. Solomon Snyder U.S.A.
Year Name Country
2016 Prof. Yoseph ImryIsrael 
2003 Prof. Anthony J LeggettU.S.A.
2002 Prof. Bertrand I. Halperin U.S.A.
2000 Prof. Raymond Davis, Jr. U.S.A.
1999 Prof. Dan Shechtman Israel
1990 Prof. David J. Thouless U.S.A.
1986 Prof. Albert Libchaber U.S.A.
1980 Prof. Michael E. Fisher U.S.A.
1980 Prof. Leo P. Kadanoff U.S.A.
Year Name Country
2018 Prof. Gene RobinsonU.S.A.
2016 Prof. Trudy FrancesU.S.A.
2014 Prof. Jorge DubcovskyU.S.A.
2004 Prof. Steven D. TanksleyU.S.A.
2001 Prof. James E. WomackU.S.A.
1993 Prof. John E. CasidaU.S.A.
1984 Prof. Robert H. BurrisU.S.A.
Year Name Country
2017 Prof. Robert G. BergmanU.S.A.
2013 Prof. Robert LangerU.S.A.
2012 Prof. Charles LieberU.S.A.
2012 Prof. Paul AlivisatosU.S.A.
2011 Prof. Krzysztof MatyjaszewskiU.S.A.
2011 Prof. Stuart RiceU.S.A.
2008 Prof. Allen J. Bard U.S.A.
2006 Prof. Ada YonathIsrael 
2006 Prof. George Feher U.S.A.
2005 Prof. Richard N. Zare U.S.A.
2004 Prof. Harry B. Gray U.S.A.
2001 Prof. K. Barry Sharpless U.S.A.
2000 Prof. Albert F. Cotton U.S.A.
1998 Prof. Gabor Somorjai U.S.A.
1994 Prof. Richard A. Lerner U.S.A.
1992 Prof. John A. Pople U.S.A.
1991 Prof. Alexander Pines U.S.A.
1988 Prof. Joshua Jortner Israel
1988 Prof. Raphael D. Levine Israel
1984 Prof. Harden M. McConnell U.S.A.
Skip Navigation Links
Site Map