Skip Navigation Links
About UsExpand About Us
Grant ProgramsExpand Grant Programs
EvaluationExpand Evaluation
Active GrantsExpand Active Grants
Memorial AwardsExpand Memorial Awards
Grant HistoryExpand Grant History
NewsletterExpand Newsletter
Skip Navigation Links
 Skip Navigation LinksHome > Memorial Awards > Prof. Neufeld Award  
Memorial Awards Professor H. Neufeld Award
   Skip Navigation Links    
Professor Henry Neufeld served continuously on the BSF Board of Governors from its charter meeting in 1973 until his death in December 1986.  During this period, he was elected chairman of the board three times.  Professor Neufeld made notable contributions to the growth and development of the BSF.  He was especially concerned with the need to help young Israeli scientists become established in Israeli institutions and with the need to enhance interdisciplinary research at the cutting edges of science.

Professor Neufeld was an internationally prominent cardiologist and scholar. His research and teaching interests included cardiology, epidemiology, genetics and biomedical engineering.  He served as chief scientist of the Israel Ministry of Health and was the founder and director of the Cardiac Clinic at Sheba Hospital in Tel Hashomer.

To honor Professor Neufeld's memory, the BSF established in 1987 the Neufeld Memorial Research Award to be given annually to the most outstanding and original new project in the health sciences.

The Award - The Neufeld Memorial Award consists of a grant of $10,000.

Eligibility - Recipients of newly funded projects in the health sciences are eligible candidates.

Application - No special applications need be made.  Every new BSF grant recipient in the health sciences automatically becomes a candidate for the award.

Selection - The grant will be awarded to the investigators whose project is considered as the most outstanding and original.

Terms of the Award - The Neufeld Memorial Awards are given in addition to the investigators’ regular BSF grants.  The funds may be used by recipients to further their research in any way they choose – subject to the approval of the BSF – at any time during the period of their BSF grants.

Recipients of the Neufeld Memorial Award

Skip Navigation Links
Site Map