Skip Navigation Links
About UsExpand About Us
Grant ProgramsExpand Grant Programs
EvaluationExpand Evaluation
Active GrantsExpand Active Grants
Memorial AwardsExpand Memorial Awards
Grant HistoryExpand Grant History
NewsletterExpand Newsletter
Skip Navigation Links
 Skip Navigation Links2014 Bergmann Memorial <br>Award Winners  
Bergmann Awardees – Young Scientist are Recognized
   Skip Navigation Links    

Named for Professor E. D. Bergmann, an internationally recognized organic chemist, the award honors Bergmann for his pivotal role in establishing the United States-Israel Binational Science Foundation (BSF) and his service on its Board of Governors until his death in 1975. One of his special interests was the encouragement of young scientists. To honor his memory, in 1976 the Board of Governors established a special grant of $5,000 in his name that is awarded annually to promising young scientists. Candidates for the Prof. Bergmann Memorial Award are researchers of exceptional merit who are newly awarded BSF grants and who meet the Bergmann criteria of being no more than 35 years old and having received a doctoral degree within the past ten years.

The BSF awarded four Bergmann Memorial Awards in 2014. While their research foci dramatically differ from one scientist to the next, what they share is a deep curiosity, a passion for their work and an enthusiasm for scientific research.   

Elana Zion Golumbic
Eyal Privman
Inon Scharf and Jonathan Pruitt

Skip Navigation Links
Site Map